Reviews

8.9
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
9.0
Property Location
8.5
Facilities
8.9
Staff
9.5
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Arkady
    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 21, 2018
    We liked everything. It felt like a stay with a very close family. Appreciated sincerity of hosts, attention to every detail. Could not be a better impression.
    Frank
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    October 18, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    tomatico
    co

    Review Score

    7.9
    September 27, 2018

    Special place but a bit overpriced

    A bit rustic considering the price (but Cartagena is never cheap). Watch out for the dead corrals before entering the water. Water not as clear as playa Blanca on the other side of Barú.
    Staff was extremely friendly. We could kayak along the shore and even fish using hotel facilities. Extremely quiet and wild area considering you are in Cartagena.
    Marie
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    September 3, 2018
    The food was average and snacks for between meals weren't great at all. Location is in the middle of no where so you have to eat and pay for meals. Nothing around, only the beach. There was no electricity for our second day and night and the whole next day so our food was plain pasta with pesto. For the price we were charged $350 for two nights. That was for accommodation only. That's alot of money especially for Colombia. One night is plenty. Bring your own extra food.
    The staff were very very nice. Place is beautiful.
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    August 27, 2018
    Not necessarily a negative review - but be prepared to sleep with the sound of bugs flying through your room. Mosquito nets are very good and keep you safe from any friends in bed w you.
    We had a very peaceful, relaxed stay at Hotel Playa Manglares. The food is delicious. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served - but only breakfast is included in the cost of the room. We ate all three meals here as there isn’t much nearby to choose from. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Hammocks on the beach are great, ask for a mojito while you’re lounging! Also, the shower is amazing. There are 3 very cute dogs that live on the property.
    Amber
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    July 24, 2018

    Incredible experience. HIGHLY recommend

    The only we "didn't like" was beyond the owner's control : there was no electricity during our stay. The owner (Olga) was extremely apologetic and catered to our every need; including letting us have a late check out so we could lay in the hammocks until lunch.
    My husband and I wanted to experience a couple of days away from the city bustle of Cartagena in a unique, less touristy way. Hotel Manglares was the PERFECT fit for us : beautiful property, lovely hammocks over looking the water, DELICIOUS food, attentive & kind staff, and an AMAZING outdoor private shower.
    Kevin
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 24, 2018

    Rustic, beautiful hotel with delicious food and amazing staff!

    The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. Lunch & dinner were FANTASTIC!! we couldn’t wait to have lunch and dinner each night. The bird sanctuary nearby super neat! Also, the owner recommended we take a day trip to some of the most beautiful beaches, which he then organized for us, and it was the absolute best time! I highly recommend staying here for 2 nights
    Andrea
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    May 28, 2018

    Best 2 days in cartagena

    More variety of snacks and even fruit or icecream at the honesty bar might be nice
    Olga was the best imaginable host! Our room was beyond romantic, almost magical. The service and food were great! Highly recommend just going for one set of hammocks to another and relax your day away in this gorgeous place! We took the tuk tuk to playa Blanca which is a quick fun ride and enjoying a peaceful swim (we went after 4 when all the vendors are headed home)
    Meagan
    us

    Review Score

    10
    May 22, 2018

    Paradise home away from home

    I loved every moment at this place, but if you hate quiet and falling asleep to the bird songs and the sound of waves gently lapping at the shore isn't your thing, stay in the city. It's very close to Playa Blanca so you can have your white sand Caribbean beaches too.
    Olga is the most kind and welcoming host! The property is beautiful, peaceful and quiet. The rooms are clean, bright and airy and it might be impossible not to relax in this place. I was the only guest at the hotel the night I stayed and they took excellent care of me. The food is fresh and delicious. It was sprinkling rain in the afternoon, so I was reading in the hammock in my and one of the girls brought me the best mojito I've ever had. In the morning I visited the stunning bird sanctuary and went for a paddle on the bay with the kayak. Loved the outdoor showers. Would absolutely recommend this place.
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    May 7, 2018

    Good place to relax in a hammock!

    It seemed lunches were the same items repeated, which may be fine for some people. We didn't feel very welcome after staying for lunch after our check-out time, so maybe consider going to the Aviary or another activity if you want to stay in Baru after check-out time.
    The ladies who cooked and served meals were very sweet. The location was perfect for relaxing and we loved the hammocks by our room and the water's edge. We had help arranging transport, which was very much appreciated! Communication before our stay was easy. We loved the resident dogs :)
    rene
    nl

    Review Score

    10
    May 1, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Carrie
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 22, 2018
    Juan and his staff made everything perfect. This is an incredible jewel, and it far exceeded our dreams. The place was clean, tranquil, and inviting. The food was good, and the atmosphere was perfect after four days in Cartagena. Our best recommendation.
    gb

    Review Score

    8.8
    October 22, 2018
    It is very remote. But that's why we went!
    Loved the chilled atmosphere and hammocks. Food very good.
    Angelo
    it

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 14, 2018

    Escape from the stressed world!

    To leave it!
    Don’t miss this place if you want to escape from the world. At least 2 nights have to be spent here as 1 night will make you sad! Olga, Marcelo, Juan...everybody were amazing!
    co

    Review Score

    6.7
    September 7, 2018

    I really did not enjoy much but was my fault, it´s not my type of place to take vacations.

    This is not a place to go with kids, is a quite place to relax, read a book and listen the ocean, not to swim or have a good time with youg kids. I recommned to person that like quite place with a regular beach and a ecofrendly enviroment. The food is regular and with just one option, the breakfast very poor and limited to one single porsion. My room had air conditioned but not all have it.
    The rooms decoration and structure of the hotel, not commun in the region. The kayak ride for is nice and the fishing option is cool. The staff is good and frendly like the owners.
    Amir D.
    de

    Review Score

    10
    August 25, 2018

    Simply pperfect. Go there!

    Perfect! Olga is a great host, the rooms were stunning beautiful, the whole setting there is amazing. I‘d highly recommend to do the boat trip Olga offers. We had a great day with the kids.
    ES
    it

    Review Score

    6.2
    August 13, 2018

    Spartan Holidays

    The hotel which is so spartan is absolutely too expensive for the structure and the offered services. The hotel not offers hot water in the shower. The small air conditioner machine was too noisy and so it wasn’t possibile to use it during the night ( and it was very very hot in the bedroom). We heard every single movement coming from the bedroom just above us. The beach, in front of the hotel, is just for relaxing on nice hammocks under trees. The sea water is dark due to the close river. I suggest you to keep with your water shoes.
    All the staff was always really nice with us. The food was good and healthy. This solution in Barù is good to relax and to “recharge batteries”. The Hotel is only 5 minutes far from Playa Blanca and you can get there easily with a TucTuc driven by Francisco. The structure also offer the possibility to organize a boat trip to discover Rosario Islands.
    ch

    Review Score

    10
    May 26, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Maria
    de

    Review Score

    2.9
    May 20, 2018

    Be careful, this a trap! See my review and pics

    Be carful, this is a trap! The pics on Booking.com and on the website of the hotel are photoshopped. The rooms are old, delapidated and dirty. Worn out dirty towels etc. There is no hot water in the bathroom. Cold shower only. Moreover, there are A LOT of Moskitos, flies and other insects everywhere (even fleas in the bed), so that you can’t stay at the beach even during the day without being bitten very badly. I would not pay for this accommodation more that 20 usd a night.
    Victoria
    au

    Review Score

    10
    May 12, 2018

    A slice of paradise just outside of Cartagena.

    Wish we could have spent more time there :)
    Great staff, who were really welcoming and helpful. Fantastic location.
Loading reviews...